Some Gallery Publicity

So..one of my photographs in my 365 day project was accepted in my first UF (University of Florida) art exhibit!

I’m still amazed, this is one of the first art exhibitions of student works at my college and I was able to get one of my photographs in :D. Not to mention that I still feel entirely dwarfed by my new school, so being a part of an art exhibit and gallery is making me feel less like a newb artist.

Of course, what’s even better is that the photograph chosen was a part of this gingerberries project. Awh, I suddenly feel so proud of this whole project (even though I had to stop it for 2 months), and very encouraged.

And a little surprised too. I submitted 5 photos total, some of my very best more “studio” shots, and fancy portraiture (like my GLAMOR INDIA series as well as other series). But I guess for some reason my GREEN MYSTERY (Day 31) seemed to be the photo to stand out.

Well, to tell you the truth, even though it’s just a photograph of a simple perrier bottle, I seem to like it too.

Green Mystery, Day 31

 Now the challenge is finding a way to print it out nicely, matting it, and framing it too. By next week.

9 thoughts on “Some Gallery Publicity

  1. Hello! As you know, I am a frequent visitor to your blog, and I truly consider it a gift. I absolutely love anything to do with art, crafts, handmade gifts, and/or photography! Therefore, I’ve awarded you with The Versatile Blogger Award! View my blog to see the details. I hope it helps to bring you new readers. :) Best of luck and congrats! ~Pam

  2. Congratulations on getting your photo selected. It’s easy to see why they chose this one – it has depth, intrigue and mystery wrapped in gorgeous textures and colours. Something out of the ordinary that makes people think….

    Excellent work!

  3. Hey Rukmini! I think the reason they picked this photo out of the five was because, while all of your pictures are awesome, capturing something as common as a water bottle and making it interesting shows a kind of skill that gets kind of lost when someone takes a photo of something that is already interesting. Don’t get me wrong, I love all of your pictures and glamour shots, but for UF, I think they probably really appreciated the simplicity that showed that you are a great photographer. This shot had nothing to do with how good of a model you had, or how pretty the landscape is.

Leave a Reply

