To be a Flaneur

I haven’t taken any photos for the fun of it in months. That also goes for the photo-a-day project which has also been paused for so since the year begun. At this rate it seems like 365 gb might as well close its self down because I can’t seem to even hold up a camera while i’m riddled with self doubt. “Why try when you know it’s not good enough” seems to have been my nagging mantra.

It made me wonder why on earth would I start this crazy ambitious project and why did I have such a connection to photography in the first place, especially since all I feel is frustrated now.

So I decided to be a Flaneur. An observer. To just wander aimlessly with nothing but a camera in one hand.

And that’s when the magic happens. I wasn’t the creator of anything at all. Just an observer getting a fresh change of perspective, almost like a new pair of eyes. The love of photography doesn’t come from recreating something but from learning to see differently. At that point even a weed growing from the ground looks like the most beautiful masterpiece.

When there is no expectation to be great, true beauty is found

4 thoughts on “To be a Flaneur

Leave a Reply

