Day 08: Monumentality

The best part of wedding photography is photographing the wedding rings. Ok, not really, but it’s the only part I’m good at. It’s finally the time I can get those darned-good macro shots. Because the rest of wedding photography is actually much, much harder than it seems. This is the second time i’ve ever done it (see my earlier blog post about my first experience here: https://gingerberries.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/wedding-photography-wisdom/).

And once again, it was humbling. It makes me realize the vast difference between an (albeit talented) amateur and a real professional. Weddings are unpredictable. Right when the vows are being said, the rings exchanged, the bride coming down the isle…any of these important moments can be lost in a second if you aren’t paying attention. If you aren’t in the right place at the right time. If you aren’t facing the right angle or using the right lighting.

This was an informal, small and intimate wedding, so the pressure wasn’t super high. But still, if i’m taking part in my friend’s ceremony as a photographer, I still have high expectations for myself. And when I can’t meet those expectations, it’s easy to be discouraged. But really, more than that it’s a learning experience. It’s the reality of what it means when you say you’re a professional and how much people depend on you to have good shots.

In the end, it’s not about me and my photos. It’s about supporting the bride, groom, and their families. And it’s a very humbling position to be in. Your ‘artistic ego’ has no say in things. It’s just about you and the services you provide.

I don’t think my photos turned out necessarily bad (though on here i’m just showing the ring photos, not any portraits or ceremony shots), it was just a reality check that even though I may be hired as a photographer, I still consider myself an aspiring photographer…someone still just learning.

And really, even when I’m a professional one day, I always want to ‘still be learning’.

Smallest of rings are represent the largest monumentality of things

2 thoughts on “Day 08: Monumentality

  1. At wedding a few weeks ago the photographer couldn’t make it, the replacement photographer was a friend and it was her first wedding. An outdoor wedding in a beautiful location with the setting sun behind the bride and groom. The lighting wasn’t just challenging, it was dang near impossible. I spent time taking shots the photographer couldn’t take, like the toddler crying, the baby bouncing on a lap in tiny denim sneakers and all the guests as they arrived. I learned a lot, had a great time.

    While you are learning, being the backup is a great role. The pressure is off, you will be places the photographer won’t be and see other aspects of the wedding. You might ask to be an intern and promise to stay out of the way, but you will learn so much.

    Best wishes for a very successful career. :D

    • ah, thank you so much for this comment. Yes, being a back up or an assistant is really the way to do things, there isn’t any pressure and it’s a good way to have a first hand experience.

Leave a Reply

